Ryan Murphy to receive 2012 International Emmy Founders Award

By: Abigail Richards

Mega producer and writer Ryan Murphy is set to be honored with the 2012 International Emmy Founders Award. Murphy is the creator of hit shows like “Glee” and “American Horror Story.” He has won an astonishing 69 Emmys in various categories over eight years.

“Throughout his career, Ryan Murphy has masterfully redefined storytelling to create unprecedented atmospheres and characters that celebrate human difference, be it dark, as in Nip/Tuck, or hopeful, as in Glee,” said Bruce L. Paisner, academy president and CEO. “We are looking forward to recognizing his creative accomplishments, which continue the great tradition of American television as we mark the 40th Anniversary of The International Emmy Awards.”

Deadline.com reports Murphy certainly deserves one of these recognition awards, as he is the master behind a variety of popular shows. He is the creator “Glee” as well as the well-loved series “Nip/Tuck.” He started his career as a journalist for The Miami Herald and The New York Daily News. He is also no stranger to films as he directed the big screen adaptation of “Eat Pray Love,” starring Julia Roberts in 2010.